Annual Convention

Annual Convention October 5-8

The AAEC and Association of Canadian Cartoonists will be joining with the Cartoon Art Museum in San Franscisco for a 3-day celebration of editorial art and political cartoonists, October 5-8, 2023.

Online registration is now open!

2022 Cartoon Contest Deadlines

PLEASE NOTE: Due to the (continued) uncertainty of the current state of the world, a number of contest details were unavailable as of this posting. As always, confirm any and all deadlines or entry fees on the appropriate website before submitting.


National Newspaper Awards (Canada)
Deadline: January 9, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

Open to cartoons appearing in daily Canadian newspapers (or their online editions) in 2021. Entry fee: $50


The “Best Cartoon” Award (formerly the THOMAS NAST Award)
Deadline: January 31, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

Annual award from the Overseas Press Club of America for “best cartoon” on international affairs published during 2021 in a U.S.-based publication or for a U.S.-based audience. All award winners receive a certificate and a $1,000 prize. $200 entry fee. (Executive Director Patricia Kranz notes, “If it is difficult for you to pay the full $200 entry fee, contact me at about assistance.”)


The Herblock Prize
Deadline: February 1, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

Open to newspaper, magazine, syndicate or wire service cartoonists for work published in 2021 in the U.S. or its territories, or in foreign editions of U.S.-based publications. No entry fee.


National Cartoonist Society Divisional Reuben Awards
Deadline: February 2, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The NCS has thrown open their annual awards to any professional cartoonist—not just NCS members. For Editorial Cartoons plan to submit exactly 8 samples of 2021 published work (published in print or online by a third party client with proof of date) with bio and entry forms to their respective recipient. (The NCS has not announced when they will hold their awards this year, and still don’t have a hard deadline. Check their site later this year if you’re interested.) No entry fee.


Sigma Delta Chi Award
Deadline: February 7, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The award from the Society of Professional Journalists recognizes an editorial cartoonist published in a newspaper, magazine, newsletter or on-line news site during 2021. $60 fee per entry for SPJ members or $100 fee for nonmembers.


Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award
Deadline: February 8, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The RFK awards honor outstanding coverage of human rights and social justice issues, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world, for work published in 2021. Entry fee: $75.


National Headliner Awards
Deadline: February 11, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

Headliner competition is open to all material appearing in a paid-circulation publication or broadcast in the United States in 2021. Entry fee $75



Rex Babin Memorial Award for Excellence in Local Cartooning
Deadline: August 26, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The Babin Award is open to North American cartoonists who draw on local or state subjects that have a strong political or social impact, and show excellence in draftsmanship and ideas. For cartoons published between Sept. 2021 to Aug. 2022. No entry fee.


Editor & Publisher Eppy Awards
Deadline: August 31, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The Eppy’s reward the best “use of editorial cartoons that promote thoughtful consideration of public events/news or that accompanies editorial material,” and have two categories: one for websites with over 1 million unique visitors, one for fewer than 1 million visitors. Entry fee: $275.


Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons
Deadline: First week of October 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The Berryman Award, given out by the National Press Foundation, is open to U.S.-based editorial cartoonists for work that exhibits power to influence public opinion, plus good drawing and striking effect. The award includes a $2,500 cash prize.




Mark of Excellence Awards
Deadline: January 24, 2021
Rules and entry form available online:

Open to student cartoonists currently enrolled in college for work published in 2021. $20 entry fee for SPJ members, $30 for non-members.


The John Locher Memorial Award
Deadline: June 15, 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The John Locher Memorial Award is a contest for aspiring cartoonists, ages 18-25, whose work demonstrates both clear opinions and strong artistry on political and social topics. Single panel, multi-panel, and animated editorial cartoons and comics will be accepted. No entry fee.


The Herblock Award for Editorial Cartooning (Scholastic)
Deadline: September 2022
Rules and entry form available online:

The Herblock Foundation has been working with Scholastic in offering a scholarship and award for student editorial cartoonists. Check out the website for details.

News Archives

  • Categories


The mission of the AAEC is to champion and defend editorial cartooning and free speech as essential to liberty in the United States and throughout the world.

The AAEC aims to be an international leader in support of the human, civil, and artistic rights of editorial cartoonists around the world, and to stand with other international groups in support of the profession.



Cartoons in Education

Every two weeks throughout the year, The Learning Forum and the AAEC offers CARTOONS FOR THE CLASSROOM, a free lesson resource for teachers discussing current events.  Visit for more lesson plans.